GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Changing my processor clock speed"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sun 06/03/05 at 10:47
Regular
"SOUP!"
Here's the situation.

My processor is an AMD 2600+ XP (edited this, it's higher than I thought)

However the clock speed is 1.17 GHz

I'm led to beleive I can jack this up to at least 1.5GHz

My RAM (if relevent) is 256 MB (not sure if thats important).

I know I'd have to do something in the BIOS however I'm not sure what, im a bit of a novice, so if you can help me I'll be very grateful.

Thanks in advance.
Sun 06/03/05 at 10:47
Regular
"SOUP!"
Here's the situation.

My processor is an AMD 2600+ XP (edited this, it's higher than I thought)

However the clock speed is 1.17 GHz

I'm led to beleive I can jack this up to at least 1.5GHz

My RAM (if relevent) is 256 MB (not sure if thats important).

I know I'd have to do something in the BIOS however I'm not sure what, im a bit of a novice, so if you can help me I'll be very grateful.

Thanks in advance.
Sun 06/03/05 at 10:54
Regular
Overclocking is a bit risky.

In my opinion.

To overclock your processor you have to have sufficient cooling.

Hmmmm......Just reading your post might be concerning something else.....

You say your CPU speed is 1.17? Seems a little low if you ask me, my AMD 2400+ is 2Ghz

The only thing I can imagine is the problem is your multiplier is set wrong.

Memory speed * multiplier = Clock speed

Mine is

133 * 15 = 1995mhz

I'd read up on your suggested settings for your processor.

Ignore me if I'm totally wrong on this though.
Sun 06/03/05 at 11:07
Regular
"SOUP!"
I'm not trying to overclock, at least I don't think I am.

Just trying to set it to the speed it's meant to be at!

Can you msn me please mate: [email protected] - you sound as if you know what you're on about :-)
Sun 06/03/05 at 12:35
Regular