GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"I need a new graphics card"

The "General Games Chat" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Thu 11/09/03 at 11:57
Regular
"Got any carrots?"
I just bought a new PC and the graphics card that came with it is crap!!!, so i need to buy a new one so can actually play games on it, the problem is I dont have a clue which one to buy. Im willing to spend under £100 (im a student) for a fast and reliable card, Im asking u people for your advice? i hear radeon and Gforce are good...
Fri 19/09/03 at 15:47
Regular
"uncopyable"
Definitely look at getting yourself a Radeon mate. If you can’t afford the big boys of the range (i.e. the 9800/Pro, or even the 9700/Pro) try and get hold of the mentioned 9600 (or the Pro) and in fact, if you could find one a 9500Pro would be even better, although they are tough to find now as they have been phased out.

Word of warning – I would think very carefully before buying any part from NV’s NV35 (AKA GeForce FX) range.

If you want a card that is going to do you well over the next year (or 2) and want to play games with their full DX9 functionality, (TR:AoD and HALF LIFE 2 to name only 2) the GeForce FX (even the high end 5900 Ultra) are not the ones to go for – they have a shockingly bad pixel 2.0 shader unit and as we all know, HL 2 in particular uses this feature heavily. Furthermore the NV35 is having real problem meeting the DX9 specs now the first few DX9 games are coming to market – all to do with the Floating point precision level of the NV range and what DX specifies – I won’t bore you with it in details but believe me, it doesn’t sound good for the FX range as a whole.