GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Downloading Music"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Wed 03/03/04 at 12:36
Regular
"Going nowhere fast"
I'm about to get broadband at home and it has come to my attention that I don't listen to enough music anymore and I'd like to.

I'd like to download tracks onto the computer or a CD and just googled for downloading music and got swamped by thousands of different sites.

Can I have any recommendations please for a good site to join. I'd like to be able to download virtually any type of music except pop. I'm particularly looking for some musical soundtracks and some Joe Jackson at the moment.

Don't tut at me just because I'm new to this and don't know where to start. At least I know where NOT to start.
Thu 04/03/04 at 20:48
Regular
"relocated"
Paradox: wrote:
> It's all rubbish and unlegal.

It's not rubbish, it's great. And it's unlegal but it shouldn't be. This week I downloaded two tracks off a mainstream album, liked them and bought the real thing. Now I find that the CD is copy-protected and I have to jump through hoops so that I can rip the tracks and listen to them on my mp3 player. But if someone hadn't circumvented the copy-protection already I never would have bought the damn thing. Grrr.
Thu 04/03/04 at 20:46
Regular
"Peace Respect Punk"
Most bands / record labels (well, independant record labels anyhoo, dunno bout the majors really...) have MP3s for download on their sites. That's what I usually use. Or Kazaa. Or I just buy CDs. Friend of mine runs an online CD store for punk/hardcore/ska/emo (etc...) music.

www.punkermentality.com if anyone's interested...
Thu 04/03/04 at 20:35
Regular
"gsybe you!"
I borrow CDs of friends and put them on PC.

Then give them back.

Bingo.
Thu 04/03/04 at 20:32
Regular
"the burning sky"
Paradox: wrote:
> It's all rubbish and unlegal.
>