GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"This should be interesting. Freeola admin should read it too!"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Thu 03/07/03 at 21:38
Regular
http://www.theregister.com/content/55/31552.html

This sounds quite interesting.

What you win, I don't know, but I can see a fair few of the crappy hosts going down, Freeola are pretty big so it will be interesting to see what happens...

And seeeing how Bargainhost got attacked a few months ago, I see them as potential target.

Now I'm not an expert on web security, but with 20,000 people trying, lets say 19,000 of them are little 11 year olds trying to 'hack' by entering random passwords, that leaves us with 1,000 people who know what they're doing...

It will be interesting.

And I want the people from Freeola to listen because I got loads of games and stuff up on my webspace and I don't want to have to upload them all again because:
a) It will take aaaaages
b) I haven't got them anymore!

*waits*
Sun 06/07/03 at 14:32
Regular
"It goes so quickly"
Is that all?? Kinda of a crappy prize for causing such caios ... hardly seems worth it.

But these people could so easily be caught, if the Internet guys in Govournment could be bothred to chase them up.
Sun 06/07/03 at 14:28
Regular
"Chavez, just hush.."
Ahhh.

I know it's 9am until 3pm.

So there's still a chance something may happen.

And I was told that the prize was 500megs webspace and a domain name...

Just, who would own up to it to win? You'd get arrested!
Sun 06/07/03 at 14:24
Regular
"It goes so quickly"
Not anything that I can see, which is a good sigh, but its like 9am over in the USA, so I doubt they've even started yet.
Sun 06/07/03 at 14:23
Regular
"Chavez, just hush.."
This hackathon doesn't see to have affected anything does it?
Sun 06/07/03 at 14:14
Regular
"It goes so quickly"