GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Perfect Dark - Better than Goldeneye????"

The "Nintendo Games" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sun 07/01/01 at 20:14
Regular
My first impressions of Perfect Dark were negative, I'm a Goldeneye veteran and this game seemed to have something missing... it seemed that Rare had added to much, tweaked something that little bit too much. I didn't like the target (which was now a green square, as opposed to a red circle on Goldeneye) and I also wasn't very impressed with the secondary modes on the guns.
So after playing the first few levels, disappointed, I decided to go to the Carrington institute to learn more about the games features (the training sessions). Then I started to really get into the game, secondary modes on the weapons became second nature and stealing/disarming opponents of their weapons before shooting them was finally a reality. I was finally agent "Perfect Dark", after doing all the training sessions and getting Gold for all the weapons in weapon training.
Then the game really started to come to life, the tasks are a little more complicated than with Goldeneye, but all the levels are well designed and fun to play. As with Goldeneye there are 3 difficulty levels, to suit everybody's abilities. One of the great things about Perfect Dark is that there are just so many new options, new guns, secondary gun modes, and different modes of play, you can even complete the same level with a friend (split screen). As an added incentive for completing a level new cheats become available, such as "classic site" (so you can play with the circular red target of Goldeneye), this is a plus as for many of the cheats in Goldeneye you had to perform tasks that would only be obvious by going to a cheat site on the internet.