GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Xbox live + Modem Questions"

The "General Games Chat" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sun 17/11/02 at 13:59
Regular
Just to let you know, im a completely newbie when it comes to networking and hardware.
Soon as my area gets broadband (Which hopefully shouldnt be too long according to bt) i'll be investing in a broadband modem, and suscribing to bt broadband.(And by that time hopefully Xbox live will be on sale too!) Since I hardly use the internet on my crappy home computer im not going to bother with a router (I dont even think it has enough ram to cope with a broadband modem either!!!), so is it as easy as just buying the modem and plugging it into the ethernet input on the back of my xbox or is there more involved?
Im just planning ahead.
Sat 23/11/02 at 22:17
yea I think you can as I am using one but I rent mine off Telewest.
Sat 23/11/02 at 21:19
Regular
"Unretired"
But hang on, can you not buy modems with ethernet not USB plugs?
That would save the cost of a router.
Tue 19/11/02 at 14:26
have fun with xbox live Hallo???

DO you actually have xbox live now or you gonna wait till retail release?
Tue 19/11/02 at 13:30
Regular
I'm just in the process of setting up a router to share my PC and Xbox on my Broadband connection. Once it's up and running successfully I'll give you all the details.
Tue 19/11/02 at 13:29
"slightlyshortertagl"
thanks, i had a spare network card which i bought by mistake, it's been sitting around for a while... woohoo i have a use for my £15 network card :0)
Tue 19/11/02 at 13:27
Regular
"gametag = viperfire"
There are 2 ways of doing this:

1: This way is expensive, get a switch and plug your 2 PC’s, Broadband modem and Xbox Live in to it and you should be fine. If you have a USB Modem than you will need a router as well.