GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"THPS3 - A fresh perspective."

The "Sony Games" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sun 06/01/02 at 00:41
Regular
First of all, thanks to Tarrant for the idea for this topic. As he was new to the Gran Turismo scene, he wrote a topic discussing his views about GT3 from the perspective of somebody new to the scene. As a result, I`m just doing a quick version of it for THPS3, as this is my first time using a THPS game.

So... first off, it seems to be in three main stages:

1) Learn how to make jumps, grabs and rails etc... giving yourself small combos of around 10k or so.

2) Discover reverts and manuals allowing you to link longer combos together, taking your scores through the roof, and past 200k.

3) I haven`t got this far yet, but from what Tarrant seems to be able to do, there is a mystery third step where you know exactly how to mix in all the specials, the variety, the grabs, combos, rails, manuals, reverts, etc... all together in one mammoth million point combo.

Having only just completed the game with one character (a custom built erm... skater) I now have access to Darth Maul. I find it quite exciting that Lucasfilm have allowed so much detail to be used for Maul. Not only is he just like the real thing, but all his moves, and goals are force related. Nice touch!

Anyway, the main point I`ve noticed about the game is its gradually growing addictiveness. Initially I would play for only 20 minutes to an hour, in the hope of perhaps getting another couple of goals. However, as the game opens up to you, it becomes gradually more and more addictive. Given the life altering addiction to THPS3 I have at my level, imagine what it must be like for Tarrant! How does he manage to stay alive without eating and stuff?