GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Help save the world."

The "General Games Chat" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sun 15/06/03 at 00:06
Regular
Yes this does count as a kind of advert.

You see this is an appeal for you to join www.find-a-drug.co.uk
You might have heard about SETI@home, you know the thing where a program runs in the background using your unused processing power to scan data from a satellite dish.

Well FAD is similar in operation, except that instead of looking for aliens it looks for molecules and proteins that can be targeted for further research and stuff in finding a cure for cancer.

I have been running distributed computing projects for several months now.
It doesn't require much effort, you download a small program and a work unit (WU). Then the program runs in the background just processing. When it finishes that WU it moves on to the next in the queue of 2 or 3 that you download every so often from the net. When it is finished it gets sent back to FAD.

The program doesn't cause slowdown, it only uses unused power, as whenever you do anything else like type a letter it lets you do that and then starts processing again. After all other than in video editing or really high powered games you only ever use an average of 10% or so of your computers capacity. So why don't you donate it to a good cause?

FAD has several ongoing projects. Currently these are cancer, multiple sclerosis, SARS and bio terrorism viruses. HIV has been run in the past and will likely restart later this year.

If you do decide to join, I have now create a Special Reserve team. The team number for entering on the setup screen is 2072. So come on join up. So far, as I only just set the team up, I am the only member. Out of 54 teams, Special Reserve is ranked 39.