GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"NOM - my review of the worst magazine EVER made!"

The "General Games Chat" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Fri 05/10/01 at 19:13
Regular
No one is ever happy are they?

First you get all the Sony vs. Nintendo rubbish which nobody can seem to come to any sort of truce about, with the argument recently being ignited again with the GBA and GameCube against the Playstations.

But who would think that an argument would emerge between two different magazines for the SAME company?
Why do people feel so strongly about these magazines?

Now for the past couple of years, I got my parents to subscribe to Nintendo Official Magazine (NOM) which was cheaper and I subscribed myself to N64 magazine.
At that time, I just thought they were both great, NOM had good cheats and good pictures, N64 had excellent reviews and good extras. So combining them both was fine, A fault with one was made up by another.
But soon the subscriptions came to an end so I started to buy each one from the shops each month. When I ran out of money and realised that the money I was spending on both mags could be saved up to buy games, I decided to stick with one mag.

But which one?
Well in the end I decided to stick with N64 magazine (Now NGC). But enough of me telling you what I went for - hereís my reason for you NOT to buy NOM anymore. I was going to do a head to head review, but that would take YEARS!!!

So here is my review of a typical NOM mag!

As my example I have taken the 106th issue of NOM July 2001. I will give my views of each section of the magazine.

NINTENDO OFFICIAL MAGAZINE:

Price of issue 106: £2.99

Pages: 90 (+16 pg GB mini-mag) - 7 pages used by advertisements

Free Gift: Wrestling Postcards.

Reasons written to buy magazine:

… Youíll read about new N64 or Nintendo games and products here first.