GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"The quickest INTERNET isp provider"

The "General Games Chat" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Thu 31/07/03 at 18:15
Regular
Posts: 787
What is the quickest isp, i want to play online and i cant affrod broadband would a 56 k suffice? On my old computer, getting new one soon :, my speed was 40k....not good and that was with Freeserve...any help much appreciated
Sat 09/08/03 at 15:38
Regular
Posts: 11,373
Yeah, but just before broadband came out freeserve 56k sucked. It used to go really slow, even for 56k.
Sat 09/08/03 at 14:22
Regular
"Hellfire Stoker"
Posts: 10,534
And it's reliable as well- In the 5 years I've had Freeserve I can only remember the server going down about four or five times.
Sat 09/08/03 at 11:13
Regular
Posts: 11,373
Yep, I got freeserve broadband :D
Sat 09/08/03 at 10:09
Regular
"Hellfire Stoker"
Posts: 10,534
Freeserve Broadband does OK for me- I also have my 2 PCs connected to the internet permanentley, so I don't have to go into dial up connection- costs about £300 a year, but well worth it. Fast and reliable at 100k and over.
Fri 08/08/03 at 22:11
Regular
Posts: 11,373
Still, it sucked then, it sucks now.
Fri 08/08/03 at 19:21
Regular
"aka memo aaka gayby"
Posts: 11,948
Well, it is, but he made it seem even worse by suggesting the price went up and the speed remained the same.
Thu 07/08/03 at 20:41
Regular
"Tornado Of Souls"
Posts: 5,680
Sounds like a big increase in price for a small increase in speed to me.
Thu 07/08/03 at 19:27
Regular
"aka memo aaka gayby"
Posts: 11,948
Or†ega wrote:
> Bob_The_Moose wrote:
> NTL do 128k cable quite cheaply I believe,
>
> They are very sneaky.
>
> They started this off @ £15 a month which is all good and well,
> but then moved it up to £18 a few months back

And also upped the speed to 150k...
Thu 07/08/03 at 19:03
Regular
"Tornado Of Souls"
Posts: 5,680
Phone calls is only cable as far as I'm aware. You'll need to pay for line activation and hardware, but there's usually some deal going on with most ISP's so it's not particually expensive. Unless you need to set up a network or something...
Thu 07/08/03 at 17:03
Regular
"" I like your Gun""
Posts: 346
As i cant recieve cable only ADSL do I HAVE to pay a instalation fee? Also i heard u get free phone calls but is that only with cable?

Freeola & GetDotted are rated

Check out some of our customer reviews below:

Many thanks!
You were 100% right - great support!
Best Provider
The best provider I know of, never a problem, recommend highly
Paul

View More Reviews

Need some help? Give us a call on 01376 55 60 60

Go to Support Centre
Feedback Hide Feedback Tab

It appears you are using an old browser, as such, some parts of the Freeola and Getdotted site will not work as intended. Using the latest version of your browser, or another browser such as Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Opera will provide a better, safer browsing experience for you.