GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Xbox samsung Drive"

The "General Games Chat" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Mon 12/01/04 at 09:35
Regular
Hi guys, I'm a noob so be gentle ;P

I have an Xbox, out of warranty and the Drive is on it's way out (saying discs are dirty etc.)

I have tried the old lens cleaner approach, but to no avail.

A friend of mine has a chipped Xbox (which I'm amused to say has broken on him completely!)

Now, before sending my Xbox off for repair, or buying a new one, can you answer me this - If I was to take his Samsung drive (which I have heard are the best models) and replace my faulty one with his, will it work? There won't be any compatibility errors or anything will there? Just a straight swap I'm hoping for.

It's really just a last-ditch attempt at saving moolah.

Thanks for your help.
Thu 15/01/04 at 21:12
Regular
"BOSE"
i put a lense cleaner in my xbox, that stopped it from reading every format of CD. the bloke said xbox people would fix it because not many people thought that would damage a console. good lad! :-)
Mon 12/01/04 at 22:14
"slightlyshortertagl"
Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice

I have a Thompson

*breaks down*
Mon 12/01/04 at 21:26
Regular
"\\"
Open up the cup holder and you can tell by the shape of the hole in the middle. There's a topic on it, on another forum showing what the different drives look like, dunno where though, i think it might be www.xboxrules.com/co.uk (one of the two).

I've got a Thompson one and it's only crashed on me once, but then i should have expected it as i crammed as many cheats as i could into one game of vice city... That was fun.
Mon 12/01/04 at 20:24
"slightlyshortertagl"
How do you know if your XBox has a Samsung in it without opening the biatch up?
Mon 12/01/04 at 13:19
"I love yo... lamp."