GetDotted Domains

At GetDotted, a 1 year .co.uk, .uk, .me.uk or .org.uk registration is now just £1.95 ex VAT.

Search Domains Now

Viewing Thread:
"Short Term Broadband"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Mon 07/11/05 at 13:44
Regular
"Chavez, just hush.."
Posts: 11,080
Basically NTL are gay, so I need to get a BT phone line and a broadband sorted pretty soonish. I'll only need it until July next year though, so not that long.

BT line I'll be able to sort out tonight, but I don't know what BB provider to go with, Freeola only have a 3 month contract but what are the 'hidden' costs? Pipex have a 1 month contract but it's a 70 fee if you quit before 12 months so it's pretty pricey.

I'm all confuslerised, who's good for short term stuff?

There's gonna be 5 computers linked up to it too, 1MB should be fine unless we all download porn at the same time...

Help?

Thanks.
Thu 17/11/05 at 22:28
Regular
"Fruit makes you far"
Posts: 232
I think I overheard that conversation. Sounds like Oli got the wrong end of the stick. You'll definitely need an ADSL modem or combined router if your current one ain't got a modem in it.
Thu 17/11/05 at 21:26
Regular
"Chavez, just hush.."
Posts: 11,080
What sort of modem do I need? I've finally ordered the broadband and the guy said that I didn't need a modem if I had a router already.

I'm a bit confused though, it's just a bog standard Linksys 8 port router that we plugged into the NTL modem last year, there's nothing modemlike in it?

Did he think I was on about a ADSL router or will a normal router work? Surely you need a modem somewhere along the line?

If anyone from Freeola reads this, I think the guys name is Oliver or something, didn't really catch it. He was nice and helpful though, every time I rang I got through to him!
Tue 15/11/05 at 16:06
Regular
"Chavez, just hush.."
Posts: 11,080
BT wholesale wouldn't talk to me, they would only talk to Freeola. So I've rung Freeola, been getting through to the same guy all day. (Either they're not busy or they've got a special PhilPhone set up...)

Anyway, he's being nice and helpful and he's getting onto their technical department to try and sort it out for me. BT won't let me sort it out or remove the flag from the line so Freeola have to. It's stupid and retarded and I want the internet that doesn't involve a dodgy connection through my phone!!!!

If O2 sort themselves out I'm going to get arseraped on my next bill. 3 per MB!!!!?
Tue 15/11/05 at 15:59
Regular
"It goes so quickly"
Posts: 4,083
What message do you get if you put in your phone number in to the BT broadband check ([URL]http://www.bt.com/broadband/[/URL])?

If that also say's that it is already broadband enabled, and you've got a modem / router, try logging in with [email protected]_domain and do a speed test [URL]http://217.32.105.42/cgi-bin/home.page.pl[/URL] (you won't be able to access the net though).

If that works, there is a live connection, which would rule out an out-dated record. If you get nothing, then the database is out of date.

Then chance an email to BT Wholesale [URL]http://www.btwholesale.com/index.jsp[/URL] (try their ADSL check too) and tell them you're not having any luck with BT Retail or a possible ISP, and ask if they can check which ISP has the line, or if they can amend their records. They generally don't reply to end users, as they are wholesale based, but you may get lucky, especially if you word your email nicely, short and to the point. Try the same message to .
Tue 15/11/05 at 15:33
Regular
"Chavez, just hush.."
Posts: 11,080
cjh wrote:
> If it was a cancel, it may take a couple of days for the BT database
> to be updated to say that the line is free for adsl to be enabaled.
> If the line still has broadband on it from another provider, see if
> you can get a MAC code instead, as it may speed up the process of you
> getting ADSL.

There's no other provider, there's nothing on the line but the BT database is saying that there is a connection. BT are saying that they can't find the problem and the only way for me to get broadband is to request a manual order from Freeola...

Freeola can't do manual orders, so it's all going horribly wrong. Ringing BT again to see what's going on, may have to go with BT Broadband and see if they can sort me an offer out to match Freeola.

If they can't BT are going to have to try and sort their system out, otherwise I'm cancelling the line and requesting that everything is paid back to me as I didn't get what I paid for.
Tue 15/11/05 at 14:10
Regular
"It goes so quickly"
Posts: 4,083
Not having read the whole thread, did you request a MAC code, or a complete cancel of ADSL on the existing line?

If it was a cancel, it may take a couple of days for the BT database to be updated to say that the line is free for adsl to be enabaled. If the line still has broadband on it from another provider, see if you can get a MAC code instead, as it may speed up the process of you getting ADSL.
Tue 15/11/05 at 13:56
Regular
"Chavez, just hush.."
Posts: 11,080
BT say the line is clear, Freeola say that it's not. So I'm well and truely screwed.

Whoop-de-doo.

Gonna ring Freeola and tell them that it is clear again, and that they're gonna lose a customer if they don't give it me! Plus theres no other cheap providers that I can go with.
Fri 11/11/05 at 13:57
Regular
"Chavez, just hush.."
Posts: 11,080
Finally got the line sorted and rang Freeola... I'll show you what I get when I check my number online:

"Our broadband check has revealed that your telephone line is already broadband-enabled.

DO YOU WANT TO MIGRATE YOUR BROADBAND FROM YOUR CURRENT INTERNET PROVIDER TO FREEOLA?"

Yep, another problem! Rang BT and it should take 48 hours to clear the line, might have Internet by next year at this rate if I'm lucky!
Wed 09/11/05 at 10:33
Regular
"Chavez, just hush.."
Posts: 11,080
Got the BT socket in my room activated, got a phone to test it and there's nothing. I can hear crackling but that's it.

Can you remove the user warned thingy from me and place it on BT as a general please?

Sorting this Internet out is starting to do my head in.
Tue 08/11/05 at 16:41
Regular
"Chavez, just hush.."
Posts: 11,080
Hmmm... wrote:
> When I read the T&C's I can see:
> "14. Cancellation after your broadband connection is activated
> or migrated: After the minimum term of 3 months you may cancel your
> connection or request a Migration Access Code to facilitate migration
> to another provider by using our official Broadband
> Cancellation/Migration Request Form."

Ok, I lied. I just did a search for 'contract' and couldn't find anything. When we get a shiny new phone for our shiny new phone line I'll give them a ring and sort it out!

Freeola & GetDotted are rated 5 Stars

Check out some of our customer reviews below:

Thank you very much for your help!
Top service for free - excellent - thank you very much for your help.
Just a quick note to say thanks for a very good service ... in fact excellent service..
I am very happy with your customer service and speed and quality of my broadband connection .. keep up the good work . and a good new year to all of you at freeola.
Matthew Bradley

View More Reviews

Need some help? Give us a call on 01376 55 60 60

Go to Support Centre
Feedback Close Feedback

It appears you are using an old browser, as such, some parts of the Freeola and Getdotted site will not work as intended. Using the latest version of your browser, or another browser such as Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Opera will provide a better, safer browsing experience for you.