GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"The Fantastic Tortoise Music Festival"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sun 14/09/03 at 03:23
Regular
I've been looking for ideas on how to make money.

Animation is great, but if I ever tried to live off it without being an absolute professional, I'd be quickly dead.

I had a look through gap year stuff... decided to take a gap year this year, relax a bit, try and get through this tumor biz and get animating a bit more.

In the "ways to fund your gap year" section, I started reading about what people did to make money so they could travel.

A man did a parachute jump and raised £200 or so, pushing a VW Beetle for 5 miles, £250.

And another girl did this fashion show. She got models, clothes, everything, local talent or something, sold drink on the premises, made an absolute fortune.

And she gave -part- of the money to charity.

Now that's where I suddenly got a bit confused. I didn't realise you could do that.

I mean, all the charity events to raise money for causes etc... it escapes my mind that the organisers actually KEEP some of the money for themselves.

Which has inspired me ever so slightly.

What if I organised some sort of event... well not on my own, obviously, I'd kill myself that way too.

But to raise money for Cancer Research, and at the same time allow myself to raise a bit of cash so I can see about travelling abroad, buying myself a car, funding animations, etc..?

It sounds almost too good to be true.

It's a dream. And I think, perhaps, if there's something that's been trying to be taught to me by all this illness I seem to gather, it's that dreams are there to be followed, because to be honest, we haven't really got time to waste.