GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"how can i build a site?"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Tue 03/02/09 at 01:48
Regular
how can i get a site
Thu 05/02/09 at 02:13
Regular
"wheres the Any Key?"
hiya 00,
so your a secret agent with no gadgets to build a website!?

Im new to this myself, but heres the basics of getting a website online.

1. You need a domain name, ie www.yourdomain.co.uk
You can buy a domain from Getdotted which is part of Freeola or as a Freeola member you can get a Freeola 500 address for free.
To buy a domain from as little as £2.99 click HERE
To get a freeola500 domain for free click HERE

2 Once you have a domain (web address) you will need to get it hosted.
Goto your My Freeola control panel, on the left hand side select My Web Sites from the Web Site & Hosting Menu.
Here you will see the domain you chose, select SETUP HOSTING.
From the 3 options that appear select I want to make a new site: and then follow any other instruction (if there is any)

Thats it, your domain name is now hosted and ready for you to upload your website to.

3. To build your website you need one of the following
A text editor ie. note pad (advanced users).
Software such as Dreamweaver, Frontpage to name a few.
Freeola's own Instant Pro Web site Builder.

To code your website in NOTE PAD you need to know HTML lanugage to build basic pages.
Software such as Dreamweaver are very good, you can lay out your pages as they will display on the net, if you can use MS Word you can build basic pages with Dreamweaver or build dymatic pages that are as complex as you like. Such software can be expensive though.
When using one of the 2 options above your homepage (1st page to display) should be saved as index.html. if not it will not be displayed when you visit www.yourdomain.co.uk.