GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Uploading files using PHP move_uploaded_file problems"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Thu 29/01/09 at 15:17
Regular
I have not been able to upload files using PHP. I have looked at some previous threads and modified a few things but still have no joy. The code lines below show what I am trying within a function called by a form posting userfile1 to it. I am quite new to this so I am expecting I am staring right through the problem. Any pointers most welcome.

When the function is run it just sits there for quite a long time and I have been unable to get any erro messages back,

$uploaddir = '/freeola/users/5/3/srnumber/htdocs';

$destination1 = $uploaddir."/Images/". $_POST['Registration']."-1.jpg";

if (move_uploaded_file ($_POST['userfile1'],$destination1)){};

Help!
Thu 29/01/09 at 23:27
Regular
Hi Eccles,

Thanks for your post. I have actually sussed the problem and finally got everything working.

Problem was in front of me as you say using $_POST instead of $_FILES but it also was related to me uploading three files cruedly from a single form call where I need to unlink the first tmp_file before moving the next one and so on.

Anyway as I said. Thanks. All part of the learning experience.
Thu 29/01/09 at 22:35
Staff Moderator
"Aargh! Broken..."
Hello,

The main problem you have is that you are using the wrong global array. PHP stores uploaded file data in the $_FILES array.

Firstly your HTML upload form tag should have
enctype="multipart/form-data" method="post"
see here and the action attribute should point to your PHP process script.
You should then be able to access the uploaded file to save it using the $_FILES array, see here.
PHP.net explains this fully but post back here if you are still stuck.
Thu 29/01/09 at 15:17
Regular