GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Freeola MySQL"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Thu 20/03/03 at 15:49
Regular
Posts: 787
Is it possible to connect to a MySQL Database on my Freeola account from another Freeola account, or even from another Host???

If so, what is the address of the Database for Freeola accounts??
Thu 20/03/03 at 15:49
Regular
"It goes so quickly"
Posts: 4,083
Is it possible to connect to a MySQL Database on my Freeola account from another Freeola account, or even from another Host???

If so, what is the address of the Database for Freeola accounts??
Thu 20/03/03 at 17:09
Regular
"Dont come here ofte"
Posts: 4,264
I smell an additional charge - knowing Freeola
Thu 20/03/03 at 22:50
Regular
"It goes so quickly"
Posts: 4,083
While on the subject:

I tried running a Script to open a connection to the Database, and was told "Access denied for user".

From what I gather, the name of the Database is a Users ID, and the standard localhost, username, password is needed to connect. Why am I given this error message???
Fri 28/03/03 at 08:56
Regular
"Fruit makes you far"
Posts: 232
You should be able to connect to an SQL account from a different Freeola account but you won't be able to connect from outside of the network (e.g. a different host).

Freeola MySQL is for use with web sites hosted at Freeola.

Regards,
Danny
Fri 28/03/03 at 17:37
Regular
"It goes so quickly"
Posts: 4,083
ok thanks.

Being able to connect from a different account on Freeola is good enough :)

Any chance we may see the ability to host multiple Domains on one account anytime in the near future though, just to make things easier, rather than having every Domain point to the same index file, I mean.
Mon 31/03/03 at 19:02
"www.Freeola.info"
Posts: 50
You can do it via a simple header redirect:

1. Create some subfolders in your htdocs folder in your webspace for each of the different websites and upload the files for those websites into the appropriate subfolder.

2. Copy and paste the code below into a text editor such as Notepad on
a PC or BBEdit on a Mac.

3. Replace "domainX" domain name here with you are hosting on your account.
EXAMPLE:
if($HTTP_HOST == 'www.bob.com') { $site ="www.bob.com/bob"; }

You can add more or delete any of the "if" lines as needed from the script.

4. Save the document as index.php (ALL lowercase letters).

5. Upload the index.php page to your web space making sure that you put it
inside the htdocs directory.



---------------copy below this line---------------

if($HTTP_HOST == 'www.domain1.com') { $site ="www.domain1.com/domain1"; }

if($HTTP_HOST == 'www.domain2.com') { $site ="www.domain2.com/domain2"; }

if($HTTP_HOST == 'www.domain3.com') { $site ="www.domain3.com/domain3"; }

if($HTTP_HOST == 'www.domain4.com') { $site ="www.domain4.com/domain4"; }


// etc etc etc
header("Location: http://" . $site);
?>

---------------copy above this line---------------
Mon 31/03/03 at 23:43
Regular
"It goes so quickly"
Posts: 4,083
I knew it was something like that ... $HTTP_HOST, got it.

Thanks for that :)

Freeola & GetDotted are rated 5 Stars

Check out some of our customer reviews below:

The coolest ISP ever!
In my opinion, the ISP is the best I have ever used. They guarantee 'first time connection - everytime', which they have never let me down on.
Best Provider
The best provider I know of, never a problem, recommend highly
Paul

View More Reviews

Need some help? Give us a call on 01376 55 60 60

Go to Support Centre
Feedback Close Feedback

It appears you are using an old browser, as such, some parts of the Freeola and Getdotted site will not work as intended. Using the latest version of your browser, or another browser such as Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Opera will provide a better, safer browsing experience for you.