GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Education"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Fri 21/02/03 at 15:08
Regular
I apologize in advance - this isn't going to be well planned.

School sucks.

I don't mean that in a 'teacherz r crap, I don’t need no education, I could survive on the streets' way. I mean it in a 'funning hell this is a stupid way of doing things' way.

Let me try and explain.

I'm in year 11. I have half a term of compulsory education left - it's about 9 school weeks. In May I start my GCSEs - the things I've been working toward for the last two years.

I can't say that I'm an exceptionally hard worker, but I'm smart. I read a lot, I try to keep up with politics, I'm interested in the world around me. The thing is, after two years of doing minimal work, I'm really screwed - I have two years of I.T. coursework to do in the next three days. This isn't the schools fault, it's mine, and I accept that. Believe it or not, I'm not perfect.

So now I'm spending my entire time worrying about what I'm going to do. The coursework is stupid, to put it quite frankly - as with a lot of coursework, you have to DELIBERITLY make mistakes in order to rectify them. That doesn't make much sense to me.
The way they mark coursework is silly. They have a mark scheme, the teachers have a mark scheme, and you have a mark scheme. So all you have to do it jump through a series of boring, utterly useless hoops. Inspiration is strictly a no go area - with GCSEs, thinking for yourself seems to have been banned.
Even poetry - you have to interpret it in the areas that they want you to interpret it. For example, you have to make points about structure, make points about language…it, like I've already mentioned, it stupid.