GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"What to choose,PC or Console?"

The "General Games Chat" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sun 07/01/01 at 04:30
Regular
I've been playing computer games for 17 years now. I started with a ZX Spectrum and have owned every console up to the Dreamcast. I do enjoy playing my Dreamcast with games such as Shenmue, MSR and Quake III but I've always wondered if I should buy a PC. My older brother recently bought one and I whilst visiting over Christmas he let me have a go on it, lets just say I was at his house for 6 hours and was on the PC for five of those hours. I was gobsmacked to say the least at the quality of the graphics and the games available for the PC. I played Star Trek Voyager: Elite Force, Half Life, Unreal Tornament and Deus Ex which I have to admit is one of the best games I've ever played. You would think by reading this I have made my decision already but I have a few doubts. I have heard that PC's require a lot of matainence and that you are always having to upgrade. I'll probably end up buying one in the end because in my mind the pro's outweigh the con's. I've asked my friends this Question and I've had a mixed response, I even caused a two hour debate on whether PC's are better than Consoles. On that topic I haven't made my mind up yet, but one thing I can say is that I'm a gamer always have been and always will be!
Sun 07/01/01 at 11:44
Regular
"Excommunicated"
PC is the best!
Sun 07/01/01 at 10:05
Regular
"Copyright: FM Inc."
After the PSX I went to PC. There's plenty of PSX games available in PC format for a start, it's just a matter of getting used to the extra control options that the PC gives you via keyboard, mouse, joystick, wheel and so on.