GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Bought a load of albums!"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Thu 24/10/02 at 09:41
Regular
I shouldn't have really, 'cos I'm only a measly student and my measly student loan can't cover all my expenses - but who needs an education when there's rock to be had! So I nipped into Virgin the other day and got a few CDs that I'd been looking forward to for quite a while:

Foo Fighters - One By One
Graham Coxon - The Kiss of Morning
Cornelius - Point

I'd really been looking forward to the new Foo's one 'cos of that single that just pure rocks, but it's a bit of a let-down. It starts off promisingly enough - with that single - but rapidly goes downhill after that and I ended up losing interest.

Graham Coxon does a lot better. I've got his other albums and they always have low-points, but they're in a different place on this one and they just slip by, unnoticed. First few tracks are brilliant, as well as a few towards the end. He even (graphically) explains why he felt the need to leave Blur. Get it if you want to hear decent Alt. blues with a cockney twint!

I've always loved Cornelius, he's such a cheeky chappie. Previous albums have seen him use everything from hard rock to quotes from the Goonies. 'Point' is no exception to this. Great disco/pop/electronica songs are mixed with strange little beeps that sound loike they come from another planet. It's maybe a bit too similar to 'Fantasma', but it's still great to listen to.

Monkey_man's pick of the week:
Cornelius - it's different and cool!
Thu 24/10/02 at 19:38
Regular
"Excommunicated"
I've heard some of Coxon's own stuff, it's good.

I got JJ72 album... which is dark and stuff but I still like it. Gives me a sore head though.

Got Queens of the Stone Age... fantastic.

Err that's about it.
Thu 24/10/02 at 18:28
Regular
"Rong Xion Tong"