GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Hollywood & Bollywood: The Perfect Marriage"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Thu 03/10/02 at 12:48
Regular
Bollywood films are gradually getting more and more attention these days, but I’m not really interested in them. Though I’m sure there are some good Bollywood movies out there, they’re just not for me, I’m no expert and forgive my ignorance, but to me they all look the same: lots of hammy acting, lavish singing sections, vomit inducing love stories etc.
But, Bollywood movies are undeniably well-liked, so with the seemingly increasing popularity of the Bollywood film productions reaching our cinema screens nowadays, and the new(ish) Bollywood musical from Andrew Lloyd-Webber, I started to come over all Bollywood.
I wondered how producers could re-invigorate the genre and make it more appealing to those who don’t like the usual Bollywood films by relating them to Hollywood, and also giving Bollywood some Hollywood stories and razzmatazz.
I’m sure there are a few well-known or well-loved Hollywood films that could be remade or given sequels, but with an added Bollywood slant…

DOC BOLLYWOOD: The diminutive time-traveller Michael J. Fox is back in a big budget movie, a Bollywood romantic comedy musical full of spectacular singing and dancing.
When a young, gifted and rich doctor from Hollywood (J. Fox) has an unfortunate accident involving his fancy sports car and a fence when on his way to a cocktail party at his friend’s house in India, he is sentenced to many days community service at the local small-town hospital.
During his time at the town, he has many humorous happenings with the sceptical locals, is involved in a number of big Bollywood style musical routines and falls for a local girl.