GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Help me build my PC!"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sun 22/09/02 at 19:24
Regular
I've decided it's time to get me a new PC, but rather than buying one, I've decided I want to build one. It's not going to be an internet one, more for gaming, but I don't want a ridiculously fast or amazing PC. My budget is only £300 but that doesn't include the graphics card, which I'll get later. The problem is, I don't know what components to get, since I've never done it before. Basically, this is what I want:

AMD Athlon 1800+ or higher
256 MB ram or higher
20GB HD or higher
On-board sound is fine
I don't need any extra peripherals, just the actual system itself, and software isn't needed either.
CD-R drive

So if anybody knows anything in the way of what I should get, what's compatible with what etc., it'd be a very big help.
Wed 25/09/02 at 10:33
Regular
"Win Suxs,Linux Rulz"
goto www.computerobbit.com they have fairly cheap prices
Wed 25/09/02 at 09:33
Regular
"Acid Casual"
Tell me of such places.. I have yet to find them.
Tue 24/09/02 at 18:19
Regular
"Eff, you see, kay?"
Nah, you can get it for cheaper from a number of places. Otherwise, why would people bother with RAM from anywhere else? FOOL!

:-D
Tue 24/09/02 at 10:05
Regular
"Acid Casual"
Turbonutter wrote:

> Yes, but you bought yours from a computer fair, Crucial RAM is *the
> best* RAM youc an buy.

And the cheapest new RAM there is.
Mon 23/09/02 at 09:41
Regular
"IT'S ALIVE!!"
You'd be better off with a bigger drive, I got an IBM one for £45, I think even the cheapest 20Gb drives are only £10 less, it's a great hdd too!!

nice spec PC though, although i'm finding even my 384Mb of ram isn' enough for this PC, althogh i'mnot sure what you'd be using 256Mb for...
Mon 23/09/02 at 08:04
Regular
"Eff, you see, kay?"
Tóm wrote: