GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Illustrated history of gaming."

The "General Games Chat" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sun 16/06/02 at 15:16
Regular
Many people on here doubt my experience as a hardcore games player. Some just dismiss my opinions, others just think I know nothing. Well, here's a brief topic on my history of gaming, in chonological order (for the sake of it). Enjoy.

ZX Spectrum + (1988)

My first home console was the ZX Spectrum +. I first got it way back in 1988 when I was three years old. My Uncle, who gave it to me, first showed me how to use it by typing one heck of a long program into the ‘Basic’ system, which displayed lots of squares of random colour all over the screen. It wasn’t til I was atleast four years of age when I started playing on it on a regular basis. I used to play games like Alcatraz Harry and Mastertronic’s very own Finder’s Keepers. Games in those days were VERY simple. The sound came out of the keyboard, similar to a PC’s internal speaker, and an additional tape recorder was required to hook up to the keyboard to load tapes containing programs. I used to play this console, or Personal Computer, on a regular basis, once every Sunday for around an hour. The loading times were long, but I didn’t care - I was having fun.

ZX Spectrum 128k +2 (1990)