GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Learning C++ - Looking for a Book Recommendation"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sat 23/02/08 at 16:59
Regular
"previously phuzzy."
I'm looking to start learning some C++, and having had an admittedly brief shifty round some Amazon reviews it seems that views are conflicting where the reader has either little or no programming exp, and those who have non-C style experience.

I'm a second year CS student who has studied intermediate-level Python, C and Java, plus a little PHP just for the banter. Does anyone have any recommendations into books / courses / websites that could provided some good tutorials and lessons on how to get started?

ps. I'm aware this is a web dev forum, but I figure it's the closest one to fitting.
Wed 27/02/08 at 17:50
Regular
"previously phuzzy."
NOW they tell me!
Wed 27/02/08 at 13:06
Regular
"Tornado Of Souls"
If you only got to malloc(), you should probably begin by learning about free() :-p
Wed 27/02/08 at 10:17
Regular
"previously phuzzy."
Thanks folks - I'll have a look into both recommendations. I might also try learning C more thoroughly, our course got to 'malloc' before it was cruelly cut short by exam time.
Sat 23/02/08 at 21:13
Regular
"Devil in disguise"
Nah, OOP was around before even C existed.
Sat 23/02/08 at 18:57
Regular
"Feather edged ..."
Garin wrote:
> Not a big fan of recommending books in these circumstances.
> Learning is a personal experience and so what style works for one
> isnt necessarily helpful to another. And I think thats why you
> find many of the amazon reviews are so contradictory.
>
> If it were me learning C++ though. I'd just buy Bjarne
> Stroustrup's book and supplement it with Google.