Is there a .UK domain with your name on it? There are only 10 DAYS left to register it!

Viewing Thread:
"Dial-up facilities using VOIP (eg: Vonage) instead of using BT"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sat 30/06/18 at 16:00
Regular
"Become a veteran"
Posts: 25
I have an ancient website that I only update twice a year using dial-up via my BT landline. It does not justify moving up to VIP status. BT are increasing their rates yet again and I would like to ditch them in favour of a VOIP-based method, such as Vonage for example. Can any kind person out there tell me please whether I would still be able to carry out the twice yearly update to my old web site if i switched to Vonage or something like?
I am grateful to you.
Aitch.
Mon 02/07/18 at 11:50
Moderator
"Are you sure?"
Posts: 5,000
Ah - I see now. Using VOIP for the Freeola dial-up connection!
Didn't see that before *blush*

Hmmm...
Mon 02/07/18 at 11:29
Staff Moderator
"Aargh! Broken..."
Posts: 1,408
Hi oldun,

While in theory it could work it's not something we would support. It's likely to be very flaky and jittery and the data rate would probably only reach 14.4k. You're welcome to try it with a cheap VoIP provider if you wish though.
Sat 30/06/18 at 19:42
Moderator
"Are you sure?"
Posts: 5,000
Hi - it sounds like you are only talking about changing your 'voice' service so I can't see how that would affect things.

I'm not familiar with Vonage - I take it you will still be connecting to Freeola via a landline? If that's right then it shouldn't change things.

NB. I've read elsewhere that the new way providers charge for 0845 numbers means that Freeola's cheap dialup costs more now as the provider takes their cut!

If you are going to VOIP for your phone have you thought about moving to Freeola's line rental and broadband?

Hopefully a staffie will be along to give you an official answer.
Hmmm...
Sat 30/06/18 at 16:00
Regular
"Become a veteran"
Posts: 25
I have an ancient website that I only update twice a year using dial-up via my BT landline. It does not justify moving up to VIP status. BT are increasing their rates yet again and I would like to ditch them in favour of a VOIP-based method, such as Vonage for example. Can any kind person out there tell me please whether I would still be able to carry out the twice yearly update to my old web site if i switched to Vonage or something like?
I am grateful to you.
Aitch.

Freeola & GetDotted are rated

Check out some of our customer testimonials below:

Thank you to all the team, for all the service I have received in the past.
I am simply writing to say a big Thank You for the excellent free service you provide. I have been one of your customers for many years and am still amazed as I was at the ...

View More Testimonials

Superb in every way...
I have just changed from one ISP to Freeola Broadband and can only say that this is the best thing that I could ever have done ... I required some help, and found it to be ...
Peter Everett

View More Testimonials

Need some help? Give us a call on 01376 55 60 60

Go to Support Centre
Feedback Hide Feedback Tab

Live Chat is offline

Live Chat is available:
9am to 6:30pm Monday to Friday (excluding bank holidays).

01376 55 60 60

Send us a ticket.

It appears you are using an old browser, as such, some parts of the Freeola and Getdotted site will not work as intended. Using the latest version of your browser, or another browser such as Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Opera will provide a better, safer browsing experience for you.