GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"SSL Certificates "

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Fri 01/12/17 at 13:34
Regular
I was reading the info sent out about SSL Certificates .
Our websites don't have any e commerce or login etc and are just purely info so I take it we don't need them.
Or is believed that it will adversely effect our seo regardless of if we need it or not if we dont have them ?

Mon 29/01/18 at 18:44
Regular
"Feather edged ..."
What Hmmm said ... I agree :¬)
Mon 29/01/18 at 15:35
"Are you sure?"
Hi Dograt,
Google is certainly pushing for sites to use HTTPS, so it could help things in Google's eyes!
I haven't moved to HTTPS yet, so I'm no expert.

Here are some HTTPS notes from Google.

See the list of 'issues'. It's fairly common for sites to show an 'expired certificate' - even the big boys seem to hit this - I'm not sure why it's so easy to be caught out?. So if you do update you need to monitor things. Lots of people also break the HTTPS by having non-secure items on their page which defeats the object.

The latest browsers are starting to warn visitors when a page "isn't secure" - take a look at your site(s) to check you aren't seeing warnings. If you are getting any warnings then you need to decide whether it's worth upgrading to HTTPS.

I guess the whole internet will be encrypted one day by default, keeping data secure end-to-end. But the idea of a 'padlock' meaning a website is safe has already passed as anyone can use HTTPS even on a site serving malware or phishing!

For me, I'm just keeping an eye on how things unfold until I see a need to update.
[s]Hmmm...[/s]

Fri 01/12/17 at 13:34
Regular
I was reading the info sent out about SSL Certificates .
Our websites don't have any e commerce or login etc and are just purely info so I take it we don't need them.