GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"DVD's - Good or Evil?"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Wed 20/03/02 at 16:29
Regular
I was in town the other day and wondered into a certain music/video store. I was wondering around, not really looking for anything in particular, (a dangerous habit I know), and entered the DVD section. Damn. Saw it. Too late now. You know what's gonna ahppen. You're gonna wonder around for about 10 minutes, then come back, pick up Memento and wonder over to the counter, give them your card and BANG there goes more of your student loan.

BUT I CAN'T HELP IT!! What is it about DVD's that makes you buy them? Continuously. I never used to buy videos, so why DVD's? I've been buying DVD's for about two years now, and I have about 35 I reckon. It's a nice collection, I'm sure many of you have more, but it is growing all the time, and there are still loads that I want. I have some v. good films such as High Fidelity, Fight Club, Memento. I also have some "rubbish" films like Coyote Ugly, Ace Ventura, etc. which I watch when I don't want to think too hard.

I'm beginning to wonder whether DVD's have subliminal messages or something. I wonder into shops with absolutely no intention of buying anything, I'll be with someone else who wants something. But I always end up walking out having bought something. I need a restraining order taken out on me or something like that!

So what is it about DVD's? Is it the extras? Maybe. I do like watching the extras on some films. Especially the cool special effects films like Matrix, Star Wars, T2 etc. But a lot of my films haven't got any extras - Grosse Point Blank is one of my favourite DVD's and hasn't got anything (unless you count chapter access, which I don't). I do look for good extras on a film, but just because there aren't any doesn't seem to stop me from buying.