GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"30 billion gigatixels per nano second... eh?"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Thu 28/02/02 at 17:54
Regular
Why do I find graphics cards so confusing? I'm sure all that fill rate stuff is really great.... but it doesn't mean much to me. And it's not like I'm a complete novice either... But anyway; at the moment I've got a GeForce 2 MX with 32MB memory, but I'm thinking of upgrading. So, here's where you come in, you techo-boffins - tell me the best card I can get, out of SR's range, for about, say, £150, and why it's the best. Is it sufficient for my gaming needs, and how future proof is it etc? Would I be better off setting my budget higher?

Cheers
Thu 28/02/02 at 19:31
Regular
"Psytrance junkie"
No problem, tell us what you decide on - I want benchmark results to compare to damnit!
Thu 28/02/02 at 19:24
Thanks, you both rule :)
Thu 28/02/02 at 19:20
Regular
"Psytrance junkie"
Ti200 and 500 are different models of the GF3, see http://nvidia.com/view.asp?PAGE=geforce3 for comparisons...they all use the nFiniteFX engine, I use a Ti500 myself and it's better than any other I've seen. Ti200 should keep you going fine unless you're a very hardcore gamer, but I really would advise you stay away from the GF4 for now - the performance difference doesn't justify the extra cost, and the MX is very poor, outperformed by a GF2 as Sly Fox said.
Thu 28/02/02 at 19:00
Regular
"YTS Primate"
I benchmarked two Sparkle graphics cards both of which SR sell last weekend.
Using 3dmark 2001 the GeForce 4 MX440 gave a score of 3516.
The GeForce 3Ti 200 scored a well impressive 4441. Both cards are within your budget with a stretch. The GeForce 4 MX lacks the infiniteFX Engine that’s present on the GeForce 3Ti. The Nvidia web site gives a good run down on the difference.