GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Making my site interactive"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Fri 22/02/02 at 18:01
Regular
Where to start? CGI/PERL PHP, it's all Greek to me.

Just about got the site working OK using frames, now I need some info about the flood of people who will want to register. It's all pretty basic stuff - it seems to me, but where to start?

I'm not a programmer (it took me a day to figure out the /htdocs FTP!!!)

Project 1
I want to create a registration form (Adobe GoLive is what I'm using) get some information, e.g. name, company, position, phone and email. Then I want to get it back to me in a format that I can use - probably .dbf - preferred, or .xls which I can convert myself.

I also want to show an acknowledgement screen and possibly send an email to confirm.

What software do I need? Or should I just try and grab some code from somewhere else?

Project 2
Let's get Project 1 out of the way first!!!!

Any help would be appreciated.
Tue 04/09/12 at 20:03
Evenin......

One of the last three rides left without lights!

Meet at the Ribchester Arms between 17:30 - 17:45 for a 18:00 departure.

Some of us will have lights just in case.
Weather looks good so we should be back for 20:00 in time for a well deserved pint and the customary chip barm :)
Wed 27/02/02 at 17:24
Clarification on PHP vs ASP --

There is an Apache (read "UNIX") ASP module available, but it's a security nightmare.
Wed 27/02/02 at 13:56
Regular
"hockeyphotos.com"
seekerof knowledge wrote:
> I want to create a registration form
> get some information, e.g. name, company, position,
> phone and email

Don't forget to register your database under the Data Protection Act.

Chris.
Wed 27/02/02 at 11:33
Phew!

And I thought it was going to be difficult.

Just off to Superdrug for some ibuprofen - my brain hurts.