GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"VIP FTP connection issue"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sat 28/07/12 at 12:29
Regular
VIP web hosting issue

Hi there,
I am a newbie to wordpress and although I installed that using Filezilla OK, this plugin does not want to install using the WP plugin intallation option from the dashboard. I have checked with my server (Freeola.net) and they say things are OK at their end. Basically, what is happening is that it will not connect to my server and comes up with the error:-
Failed to connect to FTP Server freeola.net:21
To perform the requested action, WordPress needs to access your web server. Please enter your FTP credentials to proceed. If you do not remember your credentials, you should contact your web host.
Hostname ********
FTP Username ********
FTP Password ********
Connection Type USED FTP NOT FTPS (SSL)
The response was:-
That all looks fine and the details are in fact correct. As stated, it is probably worth checking to ensure that your firewall and security software are not blocking port 21 or specifically your FTP program.
It may also be worth trying an alternative FTP program just to see if the same log in error occurs. I would recommend FileZilla as this will give more information as to the reason for failure.
My operating system is Linux Mint, browser Firefox, and as far as I am aware, I do not have any firewall or security software running to cause this problem. If there are issues with this, can I use Filezilla to install the plugin?
Many thanks for any help, Rob H
Sun 29/07/12 at 17:20
"Are you sure?"
robh wrote:
I am using the inbuilt plugin updater with WordPress...

Have you had a look at Freeola's Installing WordPress with Freeola quide in case that helps?

It mentions version 2.7 but hopefully it's still relevant with 3.4.1

[s]Hmmm...[/s]