GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"What is pain?"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sat 16/02/02 at 14:59
Regular
This is my first attempt at ever writing anything remotely deep and meaningful, so forgive me if I go off on one here.

Most of your actions happen because of your brain. The brain dictates what your body does - as you read this, you are doing so because your brain is telling your eyes to scan each word. The brain then interprets all these lines and squiggles, and processes them.

'I' is the word we use to refer to ourselves. When you kick a football, you say ‘I kicked a football’. In reality, you didn’t kick the football, a mass of skin, bone, and flesh that is connected to your nervous system and thus your brain, kicked it, under command from your brain.

But say you kicked a wall or something, and it caused pain. Why would you have an unpleasant feeling, just because something connected to your nervous system slammed into something else at speed? Why could this not be interpreted by your brain as a pleasant feeling, instead of a ‘bad’ one?

What I’m trying to say in a long, drawn out way, is the question - why is pain bad?

Surely it would be better for the brain to consider everything as pleasant? That way you would never be unhappy, you would never be in pain, because pain wouldn’t exist.

You could say that our brains have evolved to associate pain with weakness, and thus death. I reckon this would be the answer that most people, having thought about it for a while, would come up with. It’s the same reason we consider that some smells are ‘bad’ – they’re associated with death. So, basically, the brain wards the body off going and running into walls by giving the body a ‘bad’ feeling when it does something self-destructive.