GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"CuteFTP & Uploading"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Tue 19/09/00 at 20:17
Regular
Can an experienced kindly soul guide this absolute beginner
as to how to upload my files to my site using Cute FTP? Step by step instruction will be greatly appreciated.
Wed 20/09/00 at 10:35
Dear Freeola User,

Thank you for your enquiry, below is a description of FTP and how to use it
at Freeola

Understanding FTP

FTP stands for FILE TRANSFER PROTOCOL and is used to TRANSFER FILES over the internet from one computer's hard drive to another. When you view files and directories using your FTP software you are really looking at a hard drive somewhere else in the world.

When you use your FTP account at Freeola you are actually looking at Freeola's Server in Manchester. The Server will only allow you to look at your own directory this means your files are secure from outside interference. This first directory that you can access is called your root directory.

When you access your Freeola web space you will see a directory inside your root directory this will show up as a folder in your FTP software. It is named 'htdocs' which is short for HTML Documents and it is the directory that people looking for your website are sent to to view the site.

When you use FTP to send your web pages to the internet the site must be placed within the 'htdocs' directory and NOT the root directory. Be careful not to transfer your files inside the directory that you store them in on your computer

The page you would like to appear first when people access your website must be called 'index.html' in lower case so that browsers can find it. If you see a 'forbidden' error when trying to access your site, it is likely that either you have not created an 'index.html' or it is in the wrong directory.