GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Nation Of Gamers"

The "Sony Games" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Thu 14/02/02 at 15:02
Regular
In this day and age game designers are under a lot of pressure and high demand from the ever growing gaming nation.

Take 'Max Payne' for instance, ever since we have played and used 'bullet time' we expect every third person game to contain this brilliant gimic, but when they don't, e.g. 'Head Hunter' (relaesed this month) we down rate a perfectly good/great shooter because we feel that the game is missing a very important ingredient to make it a Block- Buster gaming title. Ever since the relaes of 'Metal Gear Solid' on the 'Playstation', gamers expect more out of games which makes the game designers job hard to please everybodys gaming tastes and needs.I know they do it for a living but i beleive that to produce a game today they need a mixture of most style of games all mixed into one. 'Deus-Ex' a superb PC game of '2000' and set to be a video gaming Blockbuster when released later this year on 'ps2' conatined a mixture of gaming from different gaming genres, it contained:

RPG
Action
Adventure
shoot em up
puzzle solving

The game was a huge success because most gamers could play the game because it contained everything to please a hungry nation of gamers. For game designers to do this in every game it would take a lot of time, but when we say time we complain that games are taking too long to be released and that the release dates are just being set back and back all the time!