GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Creative corner: Graphics"

The "General Games Chat" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Wed 30/01/02 at 16:01
Regular
I thought it's be nice to have gamers say what they would do to revitalise the games industry. So, here it is! Creative corner- a place for gamers to say what they'd do if they were in the shoes of Miyamoto and the like...

Then, when I'm a great developer, I can rip off your ideas, and make a fortune! ;)

Anyway, the first topic I'd like to discuss is graphics: or, more appropriately, graphical styles.

No doubt you've all seen Jet Set Radio, a can see how the graphic's graffiti-like look fits in with the game perfectly. I have a suggestion for a graphical style for phantasy RPGs, that I originally though of for the new Zelda.

Basically, the style would be based on impressionistic art- Monet's waterlilies and the like. In the game, the sky would be a swirling mass of colours continually merging and moving. Lakes in the game would be very much like Monet's waterlilies- except moving, with the colours constantly changing, and merging together.

Enemies would be followed by grey "clouds" that would radiate around their bodies to give them an evil look, while goodies would have a pure white flame around theirs.

What do you think?

Oh, and I'd love to hear other peoples' ideas.

Sonic
Thu 31/01/02 at 18:34
"possibly impossible"
Either way, I think we have a winning idea there Sonic! Quick, find someone to program it...
Thu 31/01/02 at 10:08
Regular
"---SOULJACKER---"
Almost unbelievably, pb, I came up with a very, very similar idea for this last night... but the other way around