GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"London Marathon 2008!"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Tue 07/08/07 at 19:18
Regular
"Mad as a badger!"
Well, I have signed up for next years London Marathon, probably the biggest mistake of my life as I will more than likely collapse two miles in (and no, I have no running experience in my entire 22 years of living, apart from a small amount of jogging two years ago).

I have also signed up for a 10K run in September along the Thames to get me into the groove, and get a general feeling of what to expect (on a much smaller scale of course!) Luckily I will not be partaking in this event on my own, as another Freeola staffie will be joining me for both the Marathon and the 10K run events and also hopefully one other staffie for the 10K run. It should be good fun, and we have just over eight months to prepare for the Marathon itself, so are hoping to be able to complete the full 26.20 miles somewhere between 4-4 and a half hours, if all goes well. But as long as we complete it, it’s all good :)

I started training for the first time on Sunday with my colleague, where we managed to do a 10K jog/walk with no major problems (apart from some very painful leg muscles ever since, and nearly getting run over by a tractor and a combine ‘arvester!!). We also somehow managed a 5K run/walk this morning before work, which was pretty cool, working on the basis of running/jogging for 5 minutes and then walking for 1 minute and then repeating the process over and over. It’s actually worryingly enjoyable, and I’m really looking forward to the 10K run although I am expecting mucho, mucho pain afterwards, although there is drinks and a BBQ upon finishing :D