GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"populate form without database"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Tue 24/08/10 at 18:10
Regular
"one more question"
Hi, I'm a bit of a novice using Dreamweaver to maintain my website and know nothing about ASP or MySQL etc, can anyone tell me whether I can use simple html or php to populate information from a field into a form on a new page without the use of a database? for example, I want a link from "please tell me more onfo about xyz" and for that text to appear in the form wherby all that they need to add is there email/ phone number etc.

Any advice appreciated.
Wed 25/08/10 at 21:41
Regular
"Ctrl, Alt, Woof"
Hi Scorpion II,

do you mean something like this ?

If you want to get into PHP then I'd recommend PHP & MySQL for Dummies.

JTD
Wed 25/08/10 at 12:29
Staff
"Look! There's a..."
Some good resources for PHP info are W3schools and Tizag.

Both these sites have a lot of good information which will be quite helpful.

On the assisted design front, yes I'd imagine it's something we could do for you. For us to get a better idea of the work you'd be wanting us to do it's probably better for you to Make an Enquiry and we can get back to you.
Wed 25/08/10 at 11:56
Regular
"one more question"
motomotomd wrote:
> It certainly is possible using PHP and HTML however describing it
> to you via the forum will probably not be simple.
>
> First of all you need to find a way to pass the information to
> the page where the contact form is located. The way I would do
> this would be to create a hyper-link to your new page as
> follows:
>
> http://yourwebsite/form_page.php?message=*your text here*
>
> You can then use the PHP variable $_GET['message'] to retrieve
> this information from the address bar.
>
> Lets assume that your form is using a Textarea where you wish