GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Wanna-Be Web Designer..."

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Thu 25/10/01 at 11:39
Regular
I hate the term "Website Designer". Aparently this is what I do for a living but I wouldn't see myself as one!

I've been creating sites since before the dawn of WYSIWYG and Dreamweaver spending ages coding by hand in Notepad and debugging in IE3. I originally started out at 17 as a Designer engineer creating drawings for the construction of recyclying machinery in AutoCad. After about a year of this, I got bored, I wanted to continue with what I did best... Graphic Design.

I eventually landed a job as a Graphic Designer at 18 for a small firm in Oxfordshire. The job was great, I spent all day creating Corporate Identities, brochoures, computer graphics and at one point I was invilved the the creation of Sony's WebTV interface but again I found the medium boring.

Whilst all of this was going on, I discovered the internet. I had previously come across HTML in it's more complicated form SGML in the creation of text and could see the future of online media. the other thing that attracted me was the ability to constantly push the limits of the technology, something you can only do so far with paper! Eventually i became the companys only website designer looking after the 4 sites that they hosted. There previous work was abismal, badly designed and badly put together. A company who prided themselves on 15years or graphic design had no idea how to use this new medium and how to egt the tecnology to work for you.

After 2 years, I landed a job with the Worlds largest academic publisher as a website designer. When I joined, they had just discovered MSFrontPage and where building average sites using it. but this point I had mastered HTML and discovered Dreamweaver2 and convinced them to change.