GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Winning...Is It All It's Cracked Up To Be??"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sat 29/09/01 at 21:47
Regular
We all want to win. It's true. I guess it's some animal instinct inside us which says everytime you're doing something competitive, "You've got to win! C'mon, win, or the whole thing will be a waste of time!"

I've had some experience of winning. I was extremely happy to win the 100m in year 8 on sports day, beating my arch 'rival' by a couple of tenths. But winning yourself isn't what I'm here to talk about.

Most of us support a team of some kind. Whether it be a football team (probably the most common-almost everyone in the country supports a football team of some kind, even if it's just England,) a cricket team, rugby team or a motor racing team. There are others as well, but they are probably the most popular.

You can also support people who represent your country. Tennis players like Tim Henman (for us Brits,) and in Athletics you would usually cheer for the athlete from England/UK.

Now I'm not a betting person (although, then again, I'm 14, so who knows what I'll be like when I'm older. {:)) and many others don't bet on sports either. So we'll place betting to one side for a moment. If our favoured team or person wins something, whether it be the Premiership or the US Open, what do we get out of it?? Yes, we all cheer for a while, and perhaps you all go out for a drink and celebrate. But you know, it's the actual winners who get the most pleasure out of it.