GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"New PC - help please"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Mon 11/06/01 at 22:29
Regular
I am shortly going to get a new PC (sorry SR, but not from you - I get one on the cheap through a benefits package at work).

I'll be upgrading from a PII 233, 64 MEG RAM, 6 (? I think) gig HD to PIV 1400, 256 RAM, 60 gig HD.

However, there is a problem. My old PC will go to my daughter who lives 200 miles away on 1st July. My new PC doesn't arrive until mid July.

So the point is, how do I transfer all my favourites, dial up, software etc without having to link up the computers?

I apologise. I am not a PC expert (and the answer is probably an easy one)and am undeserving of owning such a powerful new machine, but I get it on the cheap.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Wed 13/06/01 at 23:19
Regular
Mmmm, it's not gonna happen unless you keep a hold of the HDD, if you had a CD-r drive an up to date version of Norton Ghost could have made an image on CDs for you, but that isn't likely, I don't think!!
Wed 13/06/01 at 23:16
Regular
"Psytrance junkie"
If you have a reasonable number of files and try to do this with anything below a broadband connection, you'll spend hours just watching your files go to freeola and back...
Wed 13/06/01 at 23:00
Regular
"It goes so quickly"
If your a member of Freeola... why not try putting all your files on your Free Web Space???
Just not in the htdocs folder, then you can get to them when your new PC comes, and people can't get to them over the Internet.
Wed 13/06/01 at 22:03