GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Multi-lingual Website"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Wed 21/09/05 at 08:15
Regular
Ok, so I've been asked to add several languages to the website I'm creating. Seen as though I've never done anything multi-lingual before and I only have a few days to do it, what would be the best way?

I'm thinking either a recopy of the website in a new subdomain or using php includes and query strings.

I think I'll be opting for the second option. Thoughts? Any better ways?
Thu 22/09/05 at 09:09
Regular
"Lisan al-Gaib"
Damarus wrote:
> Pandaemonium wrote:
> Are you planning on centering the site?
>
> Possibly.

I'd suggest it. It's fixed width to start with, and on high resolution monitors you're getting a hell of a lot of blank space to the right. You would get the same if it was centered, but it'd look neater IMHO. Add a subtle dither in the background to give the main site promenance. [URL]http://happycog.com/[/URL]

> I know, but I can never be arsed to sort IE out. ^^

Unfortunately it's still browser number one. Assey as it is, you *have* to design for it.
Thu 22/09/05 at 08:59
Regular
Pandaemonium wrote:
> Are you planning on centering the site?

Possibly.

> Not sure about the product page. The link to the product detail isn't
> clear, the detail is squashed to the right and it's broken in IE.

I know, but I can never be arsed to sort IE out. ^^

As with the product links, I'll see what I can do.
Thu 22/09/05 at 08:43
Regular
"Lisan al-Gaib"
Damarus wrote:
> Also, just a look at how I'm getting on.
> [URL]http://regal.w3-realm.com/index.php[/URL]

Quite nice. I like.

Are you planning on centering the site?

Nice and clean, industiral looking.

Not sure about the product page. The link to the product detail isn't clear, the detail is squashed to the right and it's broken in IE.