GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"What's this John guys schtick?"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Thu 26/05/05 at 23:05
Regular
"Selected"
So I'm doing a sandwich course at University. For those that don't know, this means you take a placement during your third year - a placement being another name for a job, the only difference is that they give you the menial work and you don't get paid for it. Anyway, since I'm studying a music tech degree (yeah yeah, useless degree - tell me about it) I decide to e-mail some audio departments/studios to see if they'd consider taking me one for a year.

Firstly I e-mail a bunch of companies I'd want to work for.....to no avail - nobody replies to my letters or e-mails. So I move on and start e-mailing companies in areas of the country I'd like to work in. This is where John comes in. Y'see, I e-mailed this company called Reelsound, who operate in my home city, to ask if they'd be willing to take me on....and got this reply:

"Dear Michael,

Thanks for the email but I really can't give you any positive
advice about a career in music. The whole business is very difficult to
break into and is infact very poorly paid for the level of skill and
commitment that comitted engineer producers have. Of course the glamour
and aspiration is always there but eventually you have to grow up to the
reality.If I can advise you at all it would be to finish your course and enjoy your music as a great hobby. For money become a plumber.

John"