GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Horizontal Flickering Lines During Games"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sat 05/03/05 at 11:39
"Uzi Lover"
I've been using my graphics card (6600 GT) for a few months now and during this time I did overclock the card for a few hours. This was merely a test to see if things would run any better, but the difference was hardly noticable.

My graphics card is now at stock clock settings.

However, when playing games I do get flickering horizontal lines on some occasions which run directly in the middle of the screen but appear more obvious nearer the ends.

I have read this could be a result of overclocking but I did return the card back to stock settings. I can't remember getting lines like this before either.

Have I damaged my card or something? What can I do to stop this? Or is this all quite normal?

Thanks in advance.
Sat 05/03/05 at 13:58
Regular
"Touched!"
No probs mate!
Sat 05/03/05 at 13:48
"Uzi Lover"
I am stupid. Thats pretty easy math. 'Refresh' rate and all that. I should of thought of it sooner.

I stuck it up to 70 and it appears the lines have gone! Thanks.

That vsync was already on.
Sat 05/03/05 at 13:25
Regular
"Touched!"
I think (correct me if I'm wrong) if it's higher it can sometimes reducuce the flickering because it runs at a higher refresh rate.
Sat 05/03/05 at 13:12
"Uzi Lover"
Yeah they are clear. Must be the V-Sync thing, I'll search it in a sec. Thanks.

Whats the deal with refresh rate? I always keep it at 60 as I thought anything higher wouldn't perform as good.
Sat 05/03/05 at 12:50
Regular
"Touched!"
It could be the V-sync thing which only appear in certain games. Try your refresh rate at 70hz. Also are these lines colours like blue/red/white or clear? If they are clear it's likely to be the v-sync thing.
Sat 05/03/05 at 12:26
Regular
"Jog on, sunshine"