GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"S/PDIF Audio"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Mon 14/02/05 at 16:03
Regular
I want to connect my speakers up using the S/PDIF sport just under the keyboard and mouse input (sorry i'm not very technically minded!). At the moment they are working through my soundcard (Creative SoundBlaster Live Dohicky) using a 3.5mm audio cable but the quality is rubbish. I tried just using the coaxial cable and taking out the old lead and switching it about but no sound. Do i have to tell the computer to use the S/PDIF port? If so how? Even if this does this work will the sound quality be any better? Thanks for your help.
Wed 16/02/05 at 21:57
Regular
"The mighty GE90-115"
Don't worry about the midi port as long as the AC '97 onboard is enabled.

Now you need to install the drivers and utilities to make it work (they should have come on a disk/CD with your motherboard) failing that simply [URL]http://www.asus.com.tw/support/download/selectftp.aspx?l1_id=1&l2_id=20&l3_id=1&m_id=2&f_name=WDM_3663.zip~zaqwedc[/URL] and download the latest driver, this should also install an audio control panel which will give you full control over the onboard sound...
Wed 16/02/05 at 09:44
Regular
Thanks for that tigamilla, uninstalled the sound card but in the bios how do activate the onboard sound. There are 2 options which i think it could be: Onboard AC '97 Audio (which is already enabled) or onboard MIDI Port (when i click on this i have the choice of selecting an 'address' of 300 or 330). Then when i do this how do i load up the onboard sound utilities/drivers and set it to output to the S/PDIF port. Thanks very much for your help and once again i apologise for my lack of knowledge in any subject!

P.S. By the way have an ASUS K8V mobo if that's any help
Tue 15/02/05 at 18:25
Regular
"The mighty GE90-115"