GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"First Time Ever!!"

The "General Games Chat" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Fri 11/05/01 at 18:37
Regular
Today I had an operation in my mouth because of the way my teeth had grown. So this morning, before I left the house to go to the hospital, I thought I mihgt need my Gameboy Color for the trip back.

During the operation, I had my mouth numbed and bits of my gums removed followed by some stitches which I couldn't feel at all til now and it hurts!!! However, whilst my face and mouth were still numb I had to catch a horrible, smelly Cardiff Bus home. Anyone who has ever been on a Cardiff bus will know how bad they are!

Anyway, I got out my Gameboy Color and put in Tetris DX. I started playing it and realisd that it was my first time ever to play my portable games console whilst travelling! Most of the time I play it whilst I'm still in bed, or can't be bothered to do anything.

I played tetris getting line after line, tetris after tetris (That's 4 lines at once to those without the game) and I seemed to be going on forever! The background changed color so many times and the blocks kept falling faster and faster and I realised I was doing better than I had ever done before on Tetris!!! Then after the screen turned black and I lost (you would too if you got the blocks falling that fast) I saw the space shuttle launch! I got my highest score to date and at the same time I arrived at my bus stop!

I had the distractions of a numb bleeding gum, and bumpy roads interferring and I got a high score!

A similar thing happened to me with Pokémon Pinball! I was playing a CD really loud at 3 O'clock in the morning, and I was very tired, however I got my highest score ever on the blue table (after playing for a couple hours straight).

I seem to play games better when there are a few distractions around!