GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Pentium 4 core? What's that?"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Sat 06/11/04 at 13:57
Regular
"where's my tag?"
Hi,

I'm new to making PCs and the first thing I'm thinking about is the Pentium cores. My mobo is an Intel D875PBZ and I'm not sure which Pentium 4 chips will work with the board. The manuel doesn't seem to mention cores and I was wondering if a Prescott would be fine?

How many cores in the P4 range are there, and is the latest Prescotts simply a label for Intel's best P4s? I'm not really sure what core my mobo supports...

Oh, and for your info I'm looking to get one between the speeds of 3GHz and the highest the board will allow (3.6GHz?).
Sat 06/11/04 at 13:57
Regular
"where's my tag?"
Hi,

I'm new to making PCs and the first thing I'm thinking about is the Pentium cores. My mobo is an Intel D875PBZ and I'm not sure which Pentium 4 chips will work with the board. The manuel doesn't seem to mention cores and I was wondering if a Prescott would be fine?

How many cores in the P4 range are there, and is the latest Prescotts simply a label for Intel's best P4s? I'm not really sure what core my mobo supports...

Oh, and for your info I'm looking to get one between the speeds of 3GHz and the highest the board will allow (3.6GHz?).
Sat 06/11/04 at 14:14
"I love yo... lamp."
Do a google search. I don't know myself, but quite a few boards had issues with the amount of power the Prescott cores used. To be honest, if you can find a 3.4 GHz Northwood, go for it. Northwoods are faster clock for clock than Prescotts, run much cooler, draw less power, don't have compatibility issues with boards. All round better processors. 3.2 GHz Northwoods are fairly easy to get, the 3.4 GHz was a bit rarer.
Sat 06/11/04 at 14:15
"I love yo... lamp."