GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"download while PC is quiet?"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Thu 07/10/04 at 19:20
Regular
"where's my tag?"
Hi,

I want to download a very large file using my 56k connection over night, the problem is my PC 'hums' and is in my fathers room, and he probably wont like the noise while he sleeps. I'm not sure if the humming belongs to a fan or other device in the tower, and I can't get inside to find out. What ever it is, I need the noise to be minimal. Does anyone know how I could do this? And if there is a way to do it, is it also possible to have the monitor turned off while the download is happening too? I've tried turning computer on stand-by (I'm a noob obviously) to see if the connection remained open, but it doesn't.

Any advice would be good.
Thu 07/10/04 at 19:20
Regular
"where's my tag?"
Hi,

I want to download a very large file using my 56k connection over night, the problem is my PC 'hums' and is in my fathers room, and he probably wont like the noise while he sleeps. I'm not sure if the humming belongs to a fan or other device in the tower, and I can't get inside to find out. What ever it is, I need the noise to be minimal. Does anyone know how I could do this? And if there is a way to do it, is it also possible to have the monitor turned off while the download is happening too? I've tried turning computer on stand-by (I'm a noob obviously) to see if the connection remained open, but it doesn't.

Any advice would be good.
Thu 07/10/04 at 19:36
Regular
"Just ram it in!"