GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Do Japanese movies always have to include rape and death of the main character?"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Thu 02/09/04 at 22:28
Regular
I'm fairly new to Japanese movies so wonder about this. I bought the Beat Takeshi trilogy the other day and every movie had rape in, and the main character died. I dont know if this is just something Takeshi Kitano chooses to do but it seems really odd. I have to admit though that one of the rape scenes, although tasteless made me smile. Kitano had just killed a room full of bad guys. Then he finds the waitress hiding behind a sofa. The next scene he's on top of her. Its so bloody tasteless. Funny though. Dont ask me why. Maybe you'll understand if you've seen the movie (son. And then at the end of each of these movies. Kitano gets killed or commits suicide. For example in sonatine he had beaten the bad guys and seemed to be safe. Then he takes a gun out of his pocket and blasts his brains out. WTF. Then the credits role and it confuses me. Its like a total difference to hollywood movies. Where in them you know that the main character will almost definately survive, against the odds. But in Japanese films, you seem to know that the main character will die. But this may just be in takeshi kitano movies. Because no one was raped in battle royale, but that was directed by Kenji Fukosawa. But did the main characters die in that? I cant remember. Its been awhile since I saw it. Please will someone whose seen other Kitano movies explain, or maybe its just hiss 'artistic directorial vision.' Either way its weird. But dont get me wrong. I thoroughly enjoyed all of the movies in the box and it only cost 15 quid.