GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Decisions Decisions... Help..."

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Fri 15/10/04 at 09:09
Regular
"l33t cs50r"
Going shopping soon for parts to build a new system (thanks to landing a new contract yaterday which is going to leave me totally loaded for a few months), but as I've never done this before, would like some advice on components.

Basic requirements are 64bit AMD, shed loads of high end RAM, SATA and sound.

Looking at choosing between:

Processor Options
AMD FX53 64bit
AMD Athlon 64 3500 (Newcastle)

Mobo Options:
Gigabyte GA-K8NSN-XP nForce3 939 Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-K8NS Pro nforce3 Motherboard (socket 754)

Using AGP GFX atm, but does anyone know if the newer PCI-E boards still have an AGP slot?

Ram
2 x 512 DDR400 Ram (Corsair XMS or OCZ Performance series) May be even DDR2. Am i on the right track, never built from scratch before and want to get it right first time. Is DDR2 worth the jump?

Sound Options
Creative Audigy2 ZS 7.1 Soundcard with breakout box
Terratec DMX 6Fire 24/96 Sound

HDD
120GB SATA Hard Drive (Maxtor or Western Digital) or 2 x 80GB SATA's. Was possibly going to go for 2x250GB SATA?

Optical Storage Options
LG GSA-4120BB Dual Layer 12x DVD±RW ReWriter
NEC ND3500 16x DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter

Case options
CoolerMaster Stacker STC-T01

More than likely sticking with the Savrow SR-71 Blackbird case unless something else takes my fancy.

PSU option
X-Connect Ultra modular Powersuppy 400w
Antec Neopower modular cable management PSU 480w

GFX already handled with my OC's X800 Pro VIVO (16 pipes @ 550/1200).

Would also appreciate reccomendations for processor/case/vga cooling.

Not to worried about cost here as I'm paying Trade price + vat through work so no over bloated retail pricing here.
Fri 15/10/04 at 09:09
Regular
"l33t cs50r"