GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Installing Linux for first time - dual boot problems"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Wed 13/04/05 at 23:53
Regular
"PC Gaming Founder"
Yo people,

Currently trying to get Fedora Core 3 up-and-running on my machine. I've got a 400gb SATA running XP Pro and have today installed an 80gb SATA and successfully installed Fedora on it.

However, I'm having trouble configuring the machine for dual boot. I've set up the XP boot program (sorry, forgotten the name, begins with n, you know what I'm on about) so you can chose between XP and linux, but when I select linux the machine simply reboots. I'm guessing I've done something wrong when installing/setting up GRUB, but I'm not sure as I'm rather new to all this!

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Fri 15/04/05 at 09:29
Regular
"bing bang bong"
Your Linux installation is booting fine, but it seems to be broken. I thought you could view the files on your Linux distribution, you seemed to be able to reproduce your grub.conf :0S Try booting with your Fedora CD and typing "less /etc/fstab" minus the quotes to view that file.
Fri 15/04/05 at 00:12
Regular
"PC Gaming Founder"
By the way, I changed it so that GRUB is in MBR, and using GRUB, it loads XP fine, but when trying to load FC3, I get exactly the same as result as doing the same thing with NTLDR.
Thu 14/04/05 at 23:21
Regular
"PC Gaming Founder"
Miserableman wrote:
> What is the contents of your /etc/fstab file?

How do I go about viewing the contents of said file?
Thu 14/04/05 at 23:17
Regular
"bing bang bong"
Are you sure Fedora is properly detecting that you have SATA drives? What is the contents of your /etc/fstab file?
Thu 14/04/05 at 19:53
Regular
"PC Gaming Founder"