GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"A Games Student Writes:"

The "General Games Chat" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Tue 16/01/01 at 00:37
Regular
The future of games is right here now on your screen. It's the Internet. With faster connections meaning lower ping, games like Quake III Arena and Unreal Tournament have been made possible. And they're bloody good fun too.
Here at Salford Uni we have a course called Computer and Video games, which I'm studying. We ask what the future is a lot, and this is the answer.
2 distinct types of game are favoured, the first increasingly large internet games, like Quake 3, Outtrigger (Dreamcast) and such like, and another catgory: Story driven games, like Final Fantasy, Deus Ex types, but more so.
Fortunately, some developers are imaginative (SEGA) and some companies excel in existing genres (Rare) so we'll be kept happy.
Of course, there will always be sports games and driving games, which don't change much, but some are good.

Oh, and PS2 really sucks.
Save your money and time and go buy a Dreamcast. There's better games with a wider range, it's a lot cheaper and you can get a DECENT DVD player with your spare cash. Plus when Bleemcast! finally sees the light of day you'll be able to play your Playstation (One) games on your Dreamcast, with improved graphics!

As for what games to spend your hard earned on.
Well, some other time perhaps.
Tue 16/01/01 at 15:38
Regular
If you don't like the PS2 don't say anything about it.
Tue 16/01/01 at 15:14
Regular
"Copyright: FM Inc."
B!g W!lk wrote:

"Oh, and PS2 really sucks.
Save your money and time and go buy a Dreamcast. There's better games with a wider range, it's a lot cheaper and you can get a DECENT DVD player with your spare cash."

Played one, have we?