GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Uni Fees Change ?"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Wed 22/01/03 at 17:45
Regular
First off let me say I don't know a whole lot about this, just what I've haerd, but with plenty of us here either in, or wanting to go to, University, it seems suitable to start a topic.

I'm in my second year, on a Human Geography (BA) course at Nottingham Trent University, I live at home, get just over £3000 in repayable student loans, and my parents pay about £300 towards the tuition fees each year.

From my point of view, the change to a grant in 2004 is actually good, it's less for me to pay back when I finish, so no complaints on that front. However the grant, from what I've seen, is just £1100. Let's compare that to my current £3000 odd, bit of a shortfall eh ? Maybe it is £1100 a term, in that case you are looking at £3300, which is more like it. Living at home, running a car and travelling in means that my current loan works well. I've packed in work, sell some stuff on Ebay now and then, and I have money enough for what I want, including stuff like Broadband sub fees e.t.c. Anyone who is trying ot live away from home on the £3300 is going to need a job, at the very least. Whatever anyone says, having a job and being at university isn't always easy to do no matter how you balance time.

The proposed change to raise tuition fees for 2006 won't affect me, but it is bad. Realistically, when the University can set fees between £1000 and £3000 odd, which will it go for ? Certainly not £1000.... Make no mistake, this move will cut the numbers entering Universities IF the current government can make it that long.....